This website stores cookies on your computer. These cookies are used to improve your website experience and provide more personalized services to you, both on this website and through other media. To find out more about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy. We won't track your information when you visit our site. But in order to comply with your preferences, we'll have to use just one tiny cookie so that you're not asked to make this choice again.

2018 awards programme seeks entries

The MEED Projects Awards, in association with Mashreq, has become the leading stamp of quality and achievement for anyone operating in the GCC projects sector. The awards not only recognise the construction element of project delivery, but also consider the value and quality of a project throughout its entire life cycle, from the design concept through to engineering and construction and its wider contribution to society and the environment.


Central to the success of the awards has been the authority provided by the core values of integrity, trust and transparency associated with the MEED name. The awards programme has a two-stage judging process that recognises the best projects at the national level and then selects an overall GCC winner for each category.

The 2017 edition of the awards programme garnered a 45 per cent increase in entries. The 2018 edition anticipates a similar showing as new projects and teams demonstrate their contribution to the GCC economy, environmental awareness and success in architecture, engineering and construction.

GCC winners

Since launching the projects awards programme in 2011, MEED has recognised 92 of the highest-quality projects across the GCC completed between 2009 and 2017. Regionally, the UAE has enjoyed the most success with 28 GCC winners, followed by Saudi Arabia with 17 and Qatar with 16. Bahrain and Oman have 12 and 11 regional winners, respectively, while Kuwait has eight.
At the country level, the UAE has had 154 national winners, followed by Saudi Arabia with 46 and Qatar with 43. Oman is next with 38, followed by Bahrain with 26 and Kuwait with 25 national winners. A total of 332 national winners have been recognised since 2011.

Key dates

NOW: Open for award entries
18 January 2018: Entry deadline
2 May 2018: Awards ceremony
For more details, contact Becky Crayman at: T: +971 (0)4 818 0314; E:

“This is not just about having the tallest building or the largest infrastructure project. Although these are impressive accomplishments, it is more about how the projects contribute to the economic and social success, as well as the sustainability, of the communities in which they are based,” says Becky Crayman, programme director of awards and managed events at MEED.

“Other critical factors reviewed by the judges are innovations and achievements in design, engineering and construction. These are the benchmarks that invariably have an impact on the successful completion of any project.”

Best practice

Our awards programme aims to reward entrants through benchmarking the best practice specified in the project brief and excellence in project delivery. Winning an award sends a message to the market that quality is essential in all parts of the project management process, from design planning to engineering and construction. By participating in the eighth edition of the MEED Projects Awards, entrants will:

■ Gain unparalleled recognition for their project through an international platform;
■ Reward and evaluate their achievements through an independent judging process;
■ Be associated with the programme’s core values of integrity, accuracy and innovation;
■ Get the chance to celebrate their team’s achievements and network with the region’s leaders in projects.

How to enter

The judging panel is looking forward to receiving entries from teams who have completed projects in the past five years (January 2013-December 2017) and have the confidence they can win an award, based on their entry being evaluated against the judging criteria.

A minimal amount of time is needed to submit the information required by the judges. All information supplied by entrants is confidential and only the award winners will be published.
Register your details online today in order to gain access to the online entry form for your specific category. Your project has the chance to win at a national level and then compete at a regional level.

Judging criteria

■ Client satisfaction
■ Project excellence
■ Health and safety performance
■ Sustainability
■ Completion on time/early and to budget
■ Supply chain best practice
■ Innovation
■ Any other stand-out performance that particularly merits this award – the ‘wow’ factor

Awards for 2018

1. Airport Project of the Year
2. Building Project of the Year
3. Commercial Project of the Year
4. Education Project of the Year
5. Healthcare Project of the Year
6. Industrial Project of the Year
7. Innovation Project of the Year
8. Leisure & Tourism Project of the Year
9. Mixed-Use Project of the Year
10. Oil & Gas Project of the Year
11. Power & Water Project of the Year
12. Rail, Metro & Tram Project of the Year
13. Residential Project of the Year
14. Retail Project of the Year
15. Road, Bridge & Tunnel Project of the Year
16. Small Project of the Year
17. Social, Culture & Heritage Project of the Year
18. Sustainable Project of the Year
19. Tall Project of the Year
20. MEED Quality Project of the Year (Awarded to the GCC winning project that has risen above the rest as an outstanding example of quality in construction, engineering and innovation.)

Source: meed

Share This Post

related posts


On Top